Dignity Live in Sheffield, 2000

If you don’t want to feel the hairs on the back of neck stand up – DON”T WATCH THIS!

Great video of a great performance of a great song here.
I never really got into this song as much until I heard the outtake on Tell Tale Signs. I can tell Bob really respects this song, which would be one of the reasons he left it alone when he released Oh Mercy.

I’ve said it before on DylanTube and I’ll say it again. Bob Dylan in 2000-2001 kicks ass. I believe it is a peak in his live career. I love his cruised out approach to delivering songs, the way he holds his fender stratocaster, the way he looks in general. In my opinion this would be one of his best band combinations also. Charlie Sexton, Larry Campbell, Tony Garnier and David Kemper – there is some good chemistry with them and they helped Bob rise in a big way.

Bob does a pretty good lead solo at ’round about the 3 minute mark and Tony’s bass playing is pretty punchy indeed.

Enjoy this one friends and don’t be afraid to leave your own comment.

13 responses to “Dignity Live in Sheffield, 2000

  1. classic love the phrasing

  2. acctually a rather boring performance like the whole show at Sheffield in 2000. Nearly all of the other shows of that tour have been so much better (though Dignity was never really good).

  3. Each to their own man. It took me ages to come around to the song, I would always skip it.

  4. I attended this particular concert in Sheffield and it really stuck in my mind as being something special.

  5. I was there at this gig. My first Dylan gig. I do agree that Dylan in 2000/2001 were poss his best years. I have seen him a few times since and though he has been brillaint, his was masterful in 2000/01.

  6. Dignity hit me hard the 1st time I heard it –
    The lack of Dignity killed alot of my friends –
    Saw and heard Dylan do it live quite often –
    You can survive this game without $$$ –
    Your done without Dignity –
    Agreed – Late 90’s / Early 2000’s –
    Incredible Period – He carried all his history and beyond on stage with him –
    Every Breath Timeless / Ageless –
    Thanks for the Dignity reminder –
    Sometimes all we have left is Ourselves – Dignity and Dylan – Have A Good One

  7. Unreal Chris! My first Dylan show was in March 2001 in Melbourne. That show is worth hearing. Setlist- http://boblinks.com/032101s.html Reviews – http://boblinks.com/032101r.html . I think he was more focused in this time. The band also allowed him to shine and have a lot of fun.

  8. I tell you what – I wish I could have been there Jim!

  9. Thanks for your great comment Steve.C.

    I was too young to understand that Dignity had such a strong meaning when I first heard it.
    I think more people are chasing it than holding it.
    You are lucky to have seen Dylan many times – I have seen him 4 times and I wish I could see him more. Hopefully I’ll get to see him again.
    You can really hear all that history if you listen, and it is magical.
    Bob Dylan is king!

    Thanks Steve and may you always have – Dignity

  10. Pingback: Dignity Live in Sheffield, 2000 « DylanTube « EJ-Links

  11. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  12. You as well Josh –
    Good health to you all and the ones you love for 2009 –
    Hey we survived another one !!!!!!

  13. JqRUvw vzapgralqeor, [url=http://fzwdbfkizdgg.com/]fzwdbfkizdgg[/url], [link=http://tiyjzwkgnuml.com/]tiyjzwkgnuml[/link], http://knzpvddoiqfe.com/

Leave a Reply

